Tuesday, August 18, 2020

Governor Cuomo Announces Two Additional States Added to Travel Advisory


Eleventh Straight Day with Infection Rate Below 1 Percent

Alaska and Delaware Meet Metrics to Qualify for Travel Advisory 

0.98 Percent of Yesterday's COVID-19 Tests were Positive 

8 COVID-19 Deaths in New York State Yesterday

SLA and State Police Task Force Visits 976 Establishments and Does Not Observe Any Violations of State Requirements

Confirms 655 Additional Coronavirus Cases in New York State - Bringing Statewide Total to 426,571; New Cases in 40 Counties

  Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced that two additional states meet the metrics to qualify for the travel advisory requiring individuals who have traveled to New York from those states, all of which have significant community spread, to quarantine for 14 days. The newly-added states are Alaska and Delaware. No areas have been removed.

The governor also announced that for the 11th straight day, New York State's rate of positive tests was below 1 percent. Governor Cuomo also updated New Yorkers on the state's progress during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The number of new cases, percentage of tests that were positive and many other helpful data points are always available at forward.ny.gov.

"New York State is moving forward in the face of a continuing crisis throughout the nation and around the world—we've gone from one of the nation's worst infection rates to one of its best and have an infection rate below 1 percent for the 11th straight day—but that's no excuse for getting complacent as we add two more states to our travel advisory," Governor Cuomo said. "Our success in this fight is determined, more than anything, by the actions each of us takes in daily life—washing our hands, properly social distancing and wearing masks—and by the willingness of local governments to be competent partners and to enforce state guidance. We continue to move in the right direction, but it's up to all of us to slow the spread and stay safe." 

The full, updated list of states on the travel advisory is below:

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Virgin Islands
  • Wisconsin

Yesterday, the State Liquor Authority and State Police Task Force visited 976 establishments in New York City and Long Island and did not observe any establishments that were not in compliance with state requirements.

Today's data is summarized briefly below:

  • Patient Hospitalization - 537 (+3)
  • Patients Newly Admitted - 52
  • Hospital Counties - 31
  • Number ICU - 126 (-7)
  • Number ICU with Intubation - 60 (-4)
  • Total Discharges - 74,258 (+51)
  • Deaths - 8
  • Total Deaths - 25,264

No comments:

Post a Comment